I found Frankenstein

Standard

Last fall as I drove to Chamois, MO, I passed a sign that said “Frankenstein 3 ->”  Unfortunately I was already running late to my visit to Chamois High School and had packed my schedule after the visit, too, so I had no time to take the three-mile trip down the road to see Frankenstein.

I told so many people about Frankenstein, which sits about 30 miles east of Jefferson City, and it killed me that when they asked, “Well, what’s there?! What is it like?” I had to answer, “Beats me.”  

All summer long I hoped it would work out in my travel schedule to visit Chamois again so I could finally see what Frankenstein is all about.  In fact, Chamois was then one of the first schools I scheduled.  

I didn’t even think about it when I put it on my calendar, but I ended up making the trip toward Frankenstein the week before Halloween. Perfect!  

I had anticipated this trip so long, and it was finally here!  

Here is it! Frankenstein, MO

Here is it! Frankenstein, MO

I drove a few blocks, and there it went.  So small it doesn’t list a population.  

Frankenstein wasn’t exactly what I had built up in my mind, but it was worth the drive to finally be able to say I made it to Frankenstein, MO!

There is a Catholic church, but that's about it.

There is a Catholic church, but that’s about it.

This alone made my trip worthwhile

This alone made my trip worthwhile

Not a bad view.

Not a bad view.

Leaving Frankenstein. It wasn't much, but it was nice to look at.

Leaving Frankenstein. It wasn’t much, but it was nice to look at.

 

Leave a comment